This website uses cookies to function correctly.
You may delete cookies at any time but doing so may result in some parts of the site not working correctly.

Useful Links

HEALTH

Click on the attached links for helpful information and leaflets on medical conditions


CANCER
Breast Cancer – www.breastcancer.org 
Breast Cancer Care – www.breastcancercare.org.uk
Cancer Research – www.cancerresearchuk.org
Cancer Backup – www.cancerbackup.org.uk
Lung Cancer – www.lungcanceronline.org
Macmillan Cancer Relief – www.macmillan.org.uk
Be Macmillan –http://be.macmillan.org.uk/be/default.aspx
Prostate Cancer Research – www.prostateuk.org

Disability
Surrey Independent Living Council www.surreyilc.org.uk and www.thesurreyhubs.org.uk

CARDIOVASCULAR DISEASE
British Heart Foundation – www.bhf.org.uk 
British Hypertension Society – www.bhsoc.org 
Resuscitation Council – www.resus.org.uk 
Stroke Association – www.stroke.org.uk 

GASTROLOGY 
Coeliac Society – www.coeliac.org.uk 
National Association for Colitis and Crohn’s Disease – www.nacc.org.uk

MENTAL HEALTH
Anxiety – www.livinglifetothefull.com 
Anger Management – www.angermanage.co.uk
Counselling – www.counselling-directory.org.uk
Depression Alliance – www.depressionalliance.org 
Drug Abuse – www.release.org.uk 
Drugs – Talk to Frank – www.talktofrank.com 
Eating Disorders – www.b.eat.co.uk    
First Steps to Freedom – www.first-steps.org 
National Association for Mental Health – www.mind.org.uk
Panic – www.nopanic.org.uk 
Phobias – www.anxiety.org.uk
Postnatal Depression – www.surreypnd.nhs.uk  
Self Harm – www.thesite.org 
Stress – www.stress.org.uk
Workplace Bullying – www.jfo.org.uk 
Workplace Stress – www.hse.gov.uk/stress/

MUSCULOSKELETAL
Arthritis and Rheumatism Council – www.arc.org.uk
Back Pain Charity – www.backcare.org.uk 
National Osteoporosis Society – www.nos.org.uk

OTHER/GENERAL  
Alzheimer’s Society – www.alzheimers.org.uk 
Asthma UK – www.asthma.org.uk 
Blood Transfusion Service – www.blood.co.uk 
British Epilepsy Association – www.epilepsy.org.uk  
British Liver Trust – www.britishlivertrust.org.uk
British Thoracic Society/Lung Disease – www.brit-thoracic.org.uk 
Child Protection – www.surreycc.gov.uk/safeguarding 
Continence Foundation – www.continence-foundation.org.uk  
Diabetes UK – www.diabetess.org.uk 
Immunisations – Child and Adult – www.immunisation.nhs.uk 
Mesothelioma – www.mesotheliomaguide.com
National Eczema Society – www.eczema.org 
Royal National Institute for Deaf People – www.mid.org.uk

Self-help on various conditions www.selfcareforum.org/fact-sheets

 

WELLBEING

LIFESTYLE
Alcohol Concern – www.alcoholconcern.org.uk
Eat Well – www.eatwell.gov.uk 
Family Planning Association – www.fpa.org.uk 
Men’s Health – www.menshealthforum.org.uk 

Slimming World www.slimmingworld.co.uk/slimwithiain
Stopping Smoking – www.smokefree.nhs.uk and www.ash.org.uk   
Women’s Health – www.womenshealth.co.uk

Gardening
Patchworking Garden Project – www.patchworkinggardenproject.co.uk

PATIENT INFORMATION/LEAFLETS
Embarrassing Problems – www.embarassingproblems.com 
Lab Tests Online – www.labtestsonlie.org.uk 
Mental Health issues – www.firststeps-surrey.nhs.uk 
Netdoctor – www.netdoctor.co.uk  
Patient Information Leaflets – www.cks.library.nhs.uk 
Patient UK Medical Condition Leaflets – www.patient.co.uk
Patient UK Medical Directory Database – www.patient.co.uk/topics.asp 
Self Help – www.self-help.org.uk 
Surgery Door – www.surgerydoor.co.uk

TRAVEL ADVICE
Foreign and Commonwealth – www.fco.gov.uk/en/ 
Medical Advice for Foreign Destinations – www.fitfortravel.scot.nhs.uk

GOVERNMENT

Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service – www.acas.org.uk
Centre for Disease Control and Prevention – www.cdc.gov 
Department of Health – www.dh.gov.uk 
Employee Assistance Association – www.eapa.org.uk 
Equal Opportunities Commission – www.equalityhumanrights.com 
Government Statistics – www.statistics.gov.uk
Health and Safety Executive – www.hse.gov.uk 
Institute of Occupational Health and Safety – www.iosh.co.uk

MEDICAL ORGANISATIONS/JOURNALS

British Medical Association – www.bma.org.uk
British Medical Journal – www.bmj.com 
Free Assess to other Medical Journals – www.freemedicaljournals.com  
General Medical Council – www.gmc.uk.org
National Institute for Health and Clinical Excellence – 
www.nice.org.uk
Royal College of General Practitioners – www.rcgp.org.uk
Royal College of Physicians – www.rcplondon.ac.uk 
Royal College of Surgeons – www.rcseng.ac.uk 
Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists – www.rcog.org.uk 
Royal College of Nursing – www.rcn.org.uk

NHS ORGANISATIONS

Central Surrey Health – www.centralsurreyhealth.nhs.uk 
Dorking Healthcare – www.dorkinghealthcare.co.uk  
First Steps – www.firststeps-surrey.nhs.uk - t:0808 801 0325 (free) - e: first.steps@nhs.net
National Health Service - www.nhs..uk
NHS Choices - www.nhs.uk
NHS Direct - www.nhsdirect.co.uk
Surrey Downs CCG - www.surreydownsccg.nhs.uk
Surrey and Sussex Healthcare – www.surreyandsussex.nhs.uk

PAYING FOR CARE

PayingForCare is a website launched in 2011 designed to help individuals make more informed decisions about the arrangements and funding for their long-term care. The site is equally useful for Powers of Attorney and family members and friends.

The site endeavours to give balanced, up-to-date advice on the complex subject of long-term care, specifically care payment, through careful, continuous research and collaboration with care fees experts and respected support organisations.

PayingForCare offers help, information and advice about long term care and enables those that need regulated financial advice to make contact with specialist care fees financial advisers.



Call 111 when you need medical help fast but it’s not a 999 emergencyNHS ChoicesThis site is brought to you by My Surgery Website